Day 1 of the steps in London to my future career

So I arrived in London yesterday to begin a week of work experience for GoThinkBig. To my absolute delight, I discovered that Mappin House (the home to music stations Kiss, Magic and smashhits along with Bauer Publishing mags such as Heat) was situated only 30 seconds off Oxford street.Β Yes Oxford Street.

Working on the same road as the sparkling windows of La Senza and under a minute’s walk from the humongous Topshop, I was in my element. Unfortunately, for my bank account I can’t say the same.

Day 1 began today on the second floor of Mappin House. Even just on-looking the building from outside made me realise I was exactly where I wanted to be. Listed media brands on the window, rails of clothing visible inside an upper floor and black glistening discoball-like slabs on the wall resembled the dream workplace for me.

My morning took off in the GoThinkBig meeting room where many professionals have once entered to talk to young people in ‘pack lunch’ events. My supervisor, Eleanor, took me on a tour around the floor and introduced me to the team. What stood out to me the most was how young everyone was and how lovely they were. I suppose the demographic of the team goes hand in hand with the company’s concept of helping young people to get their first steps on the career ladder to each dream of success.

My first duty of the day was to carry out a research task into what this year’s awarded ‘100 top brands’ offer young people. I investigated what each of the popular brands offered young people in terms of events, work experience, apprenticeships, internships and undergraduate schemes. I noted their HR contact details so GoThinkBig could get in touch and provide more opportunities to their applicants. If anyone needs experience, I’m the girl to ask.

At 2pm I was invited to an editorial meeting which involved the discussion of the stats of the website, up-coming plans for features and ideas to get O2 ambassadors to promote GoThinkBig.

My day ended with sorting out the GoThinkBig merchandise of t-shirts, bags and UV wristbands. Another perk to the job I discovered, was the free merchandise they received from Boohoo- only one of my favourite online fashion stores (after ASOS of course) Lucky things.

Despite being on work experience, I wasn’t allowed to make tea. Nope, the team don’t like to be ‘cliche’ so instead, cups of tea were made for me. Thank god I can still settle my tea addiction.

Buzzing for what tomorrow’s experience holds, I just hope I can a good sleep without waking up to such big bags under my eyes in the morning!

ImageImageImageImage

Leave a Reply

