Day 2- Part of the editorial team

I ended up arriving super early this morning, better to be safe than sorry I suppose! So I reated myself to a Pret Peach Green Tea- sooo refreshing-  and headed to my desk at GoThinkBig.

I was working with the editorial team today and sent staff writer, Stevie Martin, all my ideas for potential features for their site. To my delight they loved them and even allowed me to write up my own piece to go on the website.

I wrote my report on ‘What makes a successful blogger?’ (I know I know, hardly like I’m a famous blog myself) But I was interested to find a top 5 of the most inspirational bloggers and how bog-standard blogs can turn some one into an internet sensation. It is happening! Although not for me at the moment… Maybe one day!

Stevie taught me some valuable skills today. I was taught how to use the CMS of the site to upload my own feature and I also learnt how google ads can give you best tags to add to your post to get yourself noticed and people reading.

Throughout the day GoThinkBig hosted a mini cake sale of M&S finest and a few homemade treats to raise money for the victims of the Typhoon Haiyan. I bought a choc chip cookie (chose the biggest of course) and a chocolate melting syrup covered cornflake cluster- my kind of thing!  So sweet it’s sickly!

Since the new addition of the word ‘selfie’ has marked it’s territory in the dictionary, Stevie took a photo of the team to add to the twitter account.

After my day of publishing, researching and eating way too many sweet things, I went on an Oxford Street shopping spree. After fitting room after fitting room and the best pasta I have ever tasted, I was ready for bed.

A bit of politics revision and two practice papers for my business of magazines exam later, I am tucked in and cosy for my next big day tomorrow. However, I’m feeling slightly nervous about going out for lunch with Stevie, a professional journalist!

Wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

