Day 4- video reporting and making world records

Feeling touristy taking photos of the Big Ben and a cheeky shot of the London Eye in the background

Feeling touristy taking photos of the Big Ben and a cheeky shot of the London Eye in the background

The speed networking event in action attempting to break the Guinness World Record

The speed networking event in action attempting to break the Guinness World Record

Felt really posh in walking down Parliament Square in Westminster

Felt really posh in walking down Parliament Square in Westminster

It’s not everyday you get the tube to Westminster and get to see the amazing Houses of Parliament, so today was an usual and rather exciting one for me. At least now, when I’m writing my rolling Thursday News reports on PMQ’s at my NCTJ course, I can have a picture of the building in my mind while I’m thinking of what to write.

Unfortunately the first part of my morning was a bit of a disaster when, after arriving half an hour early too, I found out the video report was actually meant to be in ‘Haymarket, just off Trafalgar Square’. God knows why I thought it was in Westminster! I think someone mentioned it yesterday and I just must have got so excited at the thought of going there that it stuck in my head. Anyways I did get to play tourist for a bit and take a few pics.

I found a map and realised Trafalgar Square was only a 10 min walk away and headed straight there. I got there at 9 and after trying to get hold of Dan I thought they may have already started the videoing so headed back to the GTB office. But as soon as I got off the tube at Oxford Circus, I had a text from Stevie saying Dan was running late so come meet for a coffee while we wait. Then Dan calls me and LUCKILY he was on Oxford Street to so, second time lucky, we made our way to New Zealand House for filming.Β Little did I know that I’d actually passed the same building when I was on Trafalgar Square half an hour earlier!

Anyways, stressful start aside, filming the video report was amazing. We had arrived at a networking event that was attempting to break the Guiness World Records of hosting the biggest. Β It was a bit scary talking into a microphone and being on camera, because firstly my voice always sounds so squeeky and annoying when I listen to it back, AND, I had just been walking through the blistering wind so my hair looked like I’d been dragged through a bush, backwards.

We decided to make quite a light-hearted and silly video with a challenge in the middle of Stevie and I competing against one an another to gather up the most business cards we could from the networkers. And can you believe it, I won! I also interviewed the founder of the event to ask him how the day was going and what his top tips for networking were. How exciting and scary at the same time! I was extra careful not to punch him in the face with the microphone!

After heading back to the studio and been given great advice from Dan and Stevie for my future career in journalism, I completed the hot opps task (browsing twitter and facebook, and basically updating my celeb goss) for Sadie. I then created the newsletter for GoThinkBig to send out to all their subscribers. That was so much fun, got to include the team’s celebration of the Global Entrepreneurship Week, my features I’d written, and the latest video report yet to go on the site. After this, I wrote another (more newsy style) report for the site about the latest Luxury Brand Management Programme City University London is offering for students.

To end the amazing day, Dan gave me some top editing skills to make ourvideo amazing.

Leave a Reply

