Valentines Cookies <3

Image

So everyone says ‘food is the key to a man’s heart’ and for my boyfriend I think that is definitely the case.

I know how much he loves cookies so I thought as an extra treat to go with his valentines gifts I would make love heart cookies with a personal touch of the love heart sweets-style.

They are so easy to make and I think they are very cute!

Ingredients:

Image

175g plain flour

100g chilled butter

85g caster sugar

1tsp vanilla extract                                                                              

1 egg yolk

For decorating:

Icing tubes (colors of your choice)

Icing sugar mixed with water

Step 1:

Image

Put the flour, butter, sugar, vanilla and egg yolk in a food processor. Dribble in 1 tbsp water and blitz until the mixture comes together to form a dough. Tip onto a work surface and knead briefly to bring together. Make sure you put flour on the surface otherwise things may get pretty sticky! Then wrap in cling film and chill for 20 mins.

Step 2:

Heat oven to 180C/160C fan/gas 4. Roll out the dough to the thickness of a £1 coin. If you have a heart cutter to stamp out heart shapes that’s great! But if not you can just as easily make your own heart shapes by cutting them out with a knife. Make as many hearts as you want from the dough of sizes you would like. Put the hearts on 2 baking trays and bake for 12 mins, swapping the trays over halfway through, until pale golden and crisp. Leave to cool on a wire rack.

Image

Step 3:

Once the cookies have completely cooled it’s time to get decorating! I used the theme of Love Heart sweets to decide how to top my cookies. Firstly pour icing sugar into a bowl to fill about half of it and then gradually add water until it is a thick consistency and a very white color. Then spread this on each cookie to give it a white background. I chose pink and purple sparkly icing tubes for writing and drawing a heart outline of my cookies- you can choose whatever you like. I copied the Love Heart sweets and iced the cookies with phrases such as ‘I ❤ U’, ‘Hug me’, ‘Kiss me’ etc. But you can write whatever you like!

Image

And there you have it your own personalised Love Heart cookies, perfect for Valentines!

Image

Leave a Reply

